Thanksgifting

DSC02355

Today is a regular Thursday in France. News from so many places is unbearable… how to celebrate? Gratitude for family, friends, roof over my head, food on my plate, clothes on my back, water in my tap, air in my lungs, sunshine on my skin, cold weather, sapphire sky, Paris… Heart still heavy.

Then this was waiting for me at my home away from home: Marion, Alexandra, Lucas & Simon lighting up their new wood stove for the first time.

Once a wise woman said, “When you bite into an apple, send what you taste to the hungry.” For what it’s worth, this flame, this tiny perfect instant is going out to anyone who needs warmth and comfort, as my thank you gift. Does loving the world somehow keep it alive?

Leave a Reply

